Knapsack problem - Java solution with thinking process O(nm) Time and O(m) Space

This is a classic knapsack problem. Honestly, I'm not good at knapsack problem, it's really tough for me.

dp[i][j] : the number of combinations to make up amount j by using the first i types of coins
    State transition:

1. not using the ith coin, only using the first i-1 coins to make up amount j, then we have dp[i-1][j] ways.
    2. using the ith coin, since we can use unlimited same coin, we need to know how many way to make up amount j - coins[i] by using first i coins(including ith), which is dp[i][j-coins[i]]

Initialization: dp[i][0] = 1

Once you figure out all these, it's easy to write out the code:

public int change(int amount, int[] coins) {
            int[][] dp = new int[coins.length+1][amount+1];
            dp[0][0] = 1;

for (int i = 1; i <= coins.length; i++) {
                dp[i][0] = 1;
                for (int j = 1; j <= amount; j++) {
                    dp[i][j] = dp[i-1][j] + (j >= coins[i-1] ? dp[i][j-coins[i-1]] : 0);
                }
            }
            return dp[coins.length][amount];
        }

Now we can see that dp[i][j] only rely on dp[i-1][j] and dp[i][j-coins[i]], then we can optimize the space by only using one-dimension array.

public int change(int amount, int[] coins) {
            int[] dp = new int[amount + 1];
            dp[0] = 1;
            for (int coin : coins) {
                for (int i = coin; i <= amount; i++) {
                    dp[i] += dp[i-coin];
                }
            }
            return dp[amount];
        }

P