What if I have no knowledge over Gray Code before?

W

A simple Google search will reveal the secret behind Gray Code, of course. Knowing the formula, this question can be solved within 5 minutes. But what if I've never known anything about Gray Code? Is it feasible for someone to derive the formula during an interview? I think I would just get stuck for 45 minutes trying to figure out how to generate an algorithm for it. Is this question intended to test one's knowledge base?

L

Here is my take about Gray codes. Maybe other people might have different opinions.

1 - You have to know what they are (it was even written in the problem statement)

The gray code is a binary numeral system where two successive values
    differ in only one bit.

2 - You have to know what they are useful for.

3 - You have to know that they are "symmetric".

With 1 and 3, you can solve any programming problem about Gray code you could have in an interview. I don't think anyone expect you to know the ins-and-outs of the Gray code (well, unless you're applying to a computer architecture position), but people expect you to be able to derive algorithms from 1 and 3.
    The point 2. is a nice touch to tell your interviewer.

H

I agree with loick. I don't think it's a knowledge base problem. It's also my first time to hear about Gray Code. But after trying some small cases, I still figured out an algorithm for it.

From my intuition, the problem is like Hanoi. If you're able to solve n = 2 case, then you can kind of repeat it twice to achieve n = 3 case. Lets try to extend n = 2 case to n = 3 case first.

When n = 2, the sequence is
    00 -> 01 -> 11 -> 10
    If you want to extend it to n=3 directly without modifying old part, there are only two possible sequence, and they are not hard to find out.

000 -> 001 -> 011 -> 010 -> 110 -> 111 -> 101 -> 100

000 -> 001 -> 011 -> 010 -> 110 -> 100 -> 101 -> 111