How do we handle the overflow case?

C

Throw an exception? Good, but what if throwing an exception is not an option? You would then have to re-design the function (ie, add an extra parameter).

S

As a cpp coder, I will use the long long to handle the overflow case. Since all input number is in int range, there is no way to overflow the long long.

J
                                 int reverse(int x) {
                                 // IMPORTANT: Please reset any member data you declared, as
                                // the same Solution instance will be reused for each test case.
                                 int r=0;
                                 for (; x; x /= 10)
                                   {
                                        r = r * 10 + x % 10;
                                   }
                                 if((r>INT_MAX)||(r<INT_MIN))
                                 return 0;
                                  return r;
    }};//if overflow, return 0;

Could you please format your code properly? Select your code and click on the {} button to format it. Also, it would be great to add a few sentences to explain your approach.

S

how come if((r>INT_MAX)||(r<INT_MIN))is coming in play , if r ever cross integer limit it will automatically convert in limit, eg. if input is 2147483646 , so output should be 6463847412 (which mean error should return 0) but this code will result -2126087180.
    correct me if i am wrong

O

you are right, so if the reversed int is negative, I tried to return -1 and got accepted.

S

even this code is getting accepted due to lack of good test cases. if your input is negative then your code will fails.

J

function should return int, but not long long

S

actually , you can assign a long long value to a int, if it can be reversed.

E

I will just treat them as strings.

L

Could you elaborate on that answer?

W